Best Luggage Brands (2026): Warranties and Airline Fit Compared
The best luggage brand for most travelers is Briggs & Riley: its lifetime guarantee repairs airline damage, with no receipt needed, and its Baseline carry-on is built to the 22 x 14 x 9 in limit American, Delta and United publish, though Briggs & Riley does not say whether that figure includes the wheels. Most brands do not cover what an airline breaks. Of the eleven here, only Briggs & Riley, Travelpro and Away say on their own warranty pages that they repair airline damage; TUMI covers it for the first year, Monos sells it as an add-on, and Béis, Calpak and Samsonite exclude it in writing.
Each brand is judged on its standard carry-on, with sizes and warranty terms read from the brand’s own site on 25 October 2026. A bag Fits a limit when it has at least 0.5 in (1.3 cm) to spare on every side, and is Borderline when it is within the limit with less room than that. Where a brand gives both inches and centimeters, we use inches for US airlines and centimeters for European ones.
Quick Picks
All Eleven Brands Compared
| Brand and carry-on | Price | Size (brand’s figure) | Weight | US 22 x 14 x 9 in | Lufthansa 55 x 40 x 23 cm | Airline damage covered? | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential 22″ | $729 | 22 x 14 x 9 in, expands to 11.5 in deep | 10 lb (4.5 kg) | Borderline | Too long | Yes, lifetime | Briggs & Riley Baseline on Amazon |
| Travelpro Platinum Elite 21″ | $390 | 23.5 x 14.5 x 9 in with wheels and handles | 7.8 lb (3.5 kg) | Too long and wide | Too long | Yes, for the original buyer | Travelpro Platinum Elite on Amazon |
| Away The Carry-On | $275 | 22 x 14.4 x 9.1 in with wheels and handles | 7.5 lb (3.4 kg) | Too wide and deep | Too long and deep | Yes, five years (bought from 14 April 2026) | Away The Carry-On on Amazon |
| TUMI 19 Degree Expandable Carry-On | $795 | 21.8 x 14 x 9 in (55 x 35.5 x 23 cm) | 7.9 lb (3.6 kg) | Borderline | Borderline | First year only | Not linked |
| Bellroy Transit Carry-On | $299 | 21.9 x 13.8 x 8.9 in with wheels | 6.8 lb (3.1 kg) | Borderline | Too long | Not stated | Bellroy Transit Carry-On on Amazon |
| Monos Carry-On Pro | $295 | 22 x 14 x 9 in with wheels and handles | 7.8 lb (3.5 kg) | Borderline | Too long | Paid add-on only | Monos Carry-On Pro on Amazon |
| Calpak Ambeur Carry-On | $245 | 21.5 x 14 x 9 in with wheels | 7.6 lb (3.4 kg) | Borderline | Borderline | No | Not linked |
| Samsonite Freeform 21″ | $219.99 list | 23 x 15 x 9.8 in | 6.5 lb (2.9 kg) | Too large | Too long and deep | No | Samsonite Freeform on Amazon |
| Béis The Carry-On Roller | $268 | 22.8 x 15.7 x 9.8 in with wheels and handle | 8.4 lb (3.8 kg) | Too large | Too long and deep | No | Not linked |
| Rimowa Essential Cabin | $990 | 55 x 39 x 23 cm with wheels and handles | 7.1 lb (3.2 kg) | Too wide and deep | Borderline | Not stated | Not linked |
| Carl Friedrik The Carry-on Core | $425 | 55 x 37 x 23 cm (21.7 x 14.6 x 9.1 in) | 6.9 lb (3.15 kg) | Too wide and deep | Borderline | Not stated | Carl Friedrik Carry-on Core at Carl Friedrik |
Briggs & Riley, TUMI, Carl Friedrik and Samsonite do not say whether their published size includes the wheels; the Borderline verdicts for the first three hold only if it does. Samsonite publishes no volume for the Freeform, and Amazon’s price on 25 October 2026 was well below Samsonite’s own list price. TUMI’s inch and centimeter figures differ slightly: on its centimeter figure the 19 Degree is 0.06 in too deep for the US majors.
Who Pays When an Airline Breaks Your Bag
The length of a warranty says little on its own. Read the exclusions for the words “transport”, “transit” or “airline” first: a lifetime warranty that excludes airline handling covers factory faults and nothing a baggage belt does.
Briggs & Riley
Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential 22″ Carry-On Expandable Spinner
Best for: Frequent flyers who would rather send a broken bag back than buy a new one. The Simple As That guarantee repairs functional damage free, airline damage included, with no proof of purchase; cosmetic wear is excluded, and you pay shipping to the repair center while Briggs & Riley pays the return. At 10 lb it is the heaviest carry-on here, and unzipping the expansion takes it to 11.5 in deep, which no US sizer will accept.
Travelpro
Travelpro Platinum Elite 21″ Expandable Carry-On Spinner
Best for: Southwest flyers who want airline damage covered for as long as they own the bag, at about half Briggs & Riley’s price; Away’s cover costs less but ends after five years. Travelpro’s Trusted Companion Promise pays to repair functional airline damage for as long as the original buyer owns the bag. Travelpro gives the body as 21 x 14 x 9 in but the overall size, wheels and handles included, as 23.5 x 14.5 x 9 in, and airlines measure the overall size: that is 1.5 in too long and 0.5 in too wide for the US majors’ box, and exactly 0.5 in inside Southwest’s 24 x 16 x 10 in on length.
Away
Away The Carry-On
Best for: The least expensive of the three brands that repair airline damage. LifetimeCare, despite the name, gives five years of free repairs, airline damage included, and one replacement if a bag cannot be fixed, on bags bought from 14 April 2026; earlier bags keep Away’s older terms. Away’s own size panel gives 22 x 14.4 x 9.1 in, 0.4 in too wide and 0.1 in too deep for the US majors, though its FAQ quotes a slightly smaller 21.7 x 14.4 x 9 in. It fits Southwest with room. Away sells it on Amazon itself.
Bellroy
Bellroy Transit Carry-On 41L
Best for: US domestic flyers who want a hardshell that is under the 22 x 14 x 9 in limit on every side, by 0.1 to 0.2 in. Bellroy’s 10-year warranty covers faults in materials and workmanship and says nothing about airline damage, but it sells the wheels, handle, lock and packing cells as parts you fit yourself.
Monos
Monos Carry-On Pro
Best for: Laptop carriers. The padded front compartment opens on its own, so the laptop comes out at security without opening the case; Monos says it takes a 16 in laptop. Its published size is the US limit to the inch, so any bulge puts it over. The free limited lifetime warranty covers wheels, locks and handles and excludes airline damage and cracks; the paid Warranty+ plans, added within 30 days of delivery, cover them.
Carl Friedrik
Carl Friedrik The Carry-on Core
Best for: Lufthansa and other European flights. Like every carry-on Carl Friedrik lists on its luggage page, it is 14.6 in wide or more, too wide for the US majors, but the Core meets Lufthansa’s 55 cm length and 23 cm depth exactly and, at 3.15 kg, leaves the most of Lufthansa’s 8 kg for packing of the four Lufthansa-sized cases here. Carl Friedrik does not say whether its figure includes the wheels. Its lifetime warranty covers the whole range; the warranty page does not address airline damage.
Samsonite
Samsonite Freeform 21″ Carry-On Spinner
Best for: Checked use, or Southwest, where it is Borderline if Samsonite’s figure includes the wheels. It is the lightest bag here and the least expensive by list price, but at 23 x 15 x 9.8 in it is over the US majors’ limit on every side and has 0.2 in of spare depth at Southwest. Samsonite’s 10-year limited global warranty covers manufacturing defects and excludes transport damage, airline damage included.
TUMI, Calpak, Rimowa and Béis
TUMI’s 19 Degree Expandable Carry-On is within the US limit only if its 21.8 x 14 x 9 in figure includes the wheels, and is 0.5 cm too wide for Air France and KLM. Its 5-year warranty covers airline and transit mishandling, with shipping both ways, only in the first year. Calpak’s Ambeur is our pick for flying both US majors and Lufthansa: Calpak’s size includes the wheels, and it is within the US box with 0.5 in spare on length and none on width or depth, and within Lufthansa’s with 0.4 cm spare on length and 0.1 cm on depth. Its catch is the warranty: its two-year limited warranty covers defects, excludes airline damage, charges a service fee on luggage claims, and applies only in the continental US.
Rimowa’s Essential Cabin matches Lufthansa’s limit on length and depth and is too wide for the US majors. Its lifetime guarantee covers every functional part of suitcases bought from 25 July 2022 and excludes cosmetic wear, and its page does not address damage by cause; you pay to ship the case in and Rimowa pays the return. Béis’s Carry-On Roller holds 49 L before expanding, but at 22.8 x 15.7 x 9.8 in it needs Southwest’s limit, where it has 0.3 in spare on width and 0.2 in on depth. Its limited lifetime warranty replaces a cracked shell or broken wheel and excludes airline handling and dents.
How We Compared the Brands
We took each brand’s standard carry-on, read its size, weight and price from the brand’s own product page and its warranty from the brand’s own warranty page, all on 25 October 2026, and compared the size with each airline’s published limit. Delsey is left out because its US site gives two different weights for the Chatelet Air 2.0 carry-on; July is not covered in this round.
Common Questions
Which luggage brand has the best warranty?
Briggs & Riley, for lifetime airline-damage repairs without a receipt; Travelpro and Away are the other two that repair airline damage.
Does a lifetime warranty cover airline damage?
Only some do. Of the six lifetime warranties here, Briggs & Riley and Travelpro cover airline damage, Béis and Monos (without Warranty+) exclude it, and Rimowa and Carl Friedrik do not address it.
Which brand’s carry-on fits United, Delta and American?
Bellroy, Monos and Calpak are within the 22 x 14 x 9 in limit, and Briggs & Riley and TUMI are too if their published sizes include the wheels; each of these is Borderline, and the Bellroy is the only one under it on every side. Away, Travelpro, Samsonite, Béis, Rimowa and Carl Friedrik are over it.
Is Rimowa worth the price?
Not for fit. The Essential Cabin is Borderline at Lufthansa and too wide for the US majors, while the Calpak Ambeur is Borderline at both for a fraction of the price. What Rimowa adds is a lifetime guarantee on every functional part, where Calpak’s warranty is limited and excludes airline damage.
About this guide: Sizes, weights, volumes, prices and warranty terms come from each brand’s own product and warranty pages (Briggs & Riley, Travelpro, Away, TUMI, Bellroy, Monos, Calpak, Samsonite, Béis, Rimowa, Carl Friedrik), and Amazon prices and sellers from Amazon, all read 25 October 2026. Airline limits come from each airline’s own baggage page, read 23 October 2026.
Affiliate disclosure: Carry-On Gear Guide earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through the Amazon and Carl Friedrik links on this page, at no extra cost to you. TUMI, Calpak, Rimowa and Béis are not linked. Full disclosure.
Last updated October 2026